Benefit schedule set for 2019

Payments usually made on the first business day of each month

By Donna Castiglione, Ohio Public Employees Retirement System

Dec. 26, 2018 – If you’re an OPERS retiree, you receive a pension each month. Here’s when our retirees can expect to receive their pensions next year.

OPERS typically issues pension benefit payments on the first business day of the month. If that day falls on a weekend or holiday, we’ll issue the payment on the last business day of the previous month. The exception to this rule is in January when, for tax purposes, the payment must be issued on the first business day of the month.

Please make note of the payment dates for 2019 in the list below. You can also call OPERS at the end of any month and listen to the automated “Fast Facts” message for these important dates. Simply press 2 for “Fast Facts.”

Monthly benefitPayment date
JanuaryJan. 2 (Wednesday)
FebruaryFeb. 1 (Friday)
MarchMarch 1 (Friday)
AprilApril 1 (Monday)
MayMay 1 (Wednesday)
JuneMay 31 (Friday)
JulyJuly 1 (Monday)
AugustAug. 1 (Thursday)
SeptemberAug. 30 (Friday)
OctoberOct. 1 (Tuesday)
NovemberNov. 1 (Friday)
DecemberNov. 29 (Friday)

 

Donna Castiglione

Donna Castiglione is the assistant director of Member Services and has been with the Ohio Public Employees Retirement System for more than 13 years. She has extensive experience in customer service management in a variety of industries.

Donna Castiglione

Assistant Director of Member Services

  • Reading up on retirement…..so if my last day of work is lets say January 1st …..then my retirement effective date is February 1st? ……….but if my last day of work is December 31st then its January 1st?

    • You are correct, Larry. Your retirement effective date is always the first of the month.

      Julie, OPERS

    • Mr. Martin,

      The 2020 schedule will be in the upcoming retiree newsletter and in next week’s blog. For your records, here is the 2020 payment schedule:

      Thurs. Jan 2
      Fri. Jan. 31
      Fri. Feb. 28
      Wed. April 1
      Fri. May 1
      Mon. June 1
      Wed. July 1
      Fri. July 31
      Tues. Sept. 1
      Thurs. Oct. 1
      Fri. Oct. 30
      Tues. Dec. 1

      Julie, OPERS

  • As a recipient of retirement benefits and SS, will I qualify for any of the proposed $1200.00 economic stimulus? If so, how will it affect my 2020 income tax return?

  • >